Dr. Todd James Pierce

Todd James Pierce Professor

Co-Director of Creative Writing Program

English Major Advisor



Ph.D.  Florida State University, 2003
M.F.A. Creative Writing: Fiction, University of California, Irvine, 1995
M.A     Literature, Composition & Interdisciplinary Studies, Oregon State Univ., 1992
B.A.    Liberal Arts, Southern California College, 1988

Teaching and Research Interests

Creative Writing – Fiction and Poetry
Contemporary American Literature
Mid-Century Animation

Selected Publications

Todd Pierce - Amazon Publication Page

The Life and Times of Ward Kimball (a biography of American animator, Ward Kimball), University Press of Mississippi, 2019.

Three Years In Wonderland: The Disney Brothers, C.V. Wood, and the Making of the Great American Theme Park (narrative non-fiction), University Press of Mississippi, 2016.

College: A Reader for Writers (college textbook), Oxford University Press, 2016.

Visual Storytelling: An Illustrated Reader (college textbook), Oxford University Press, 2015.

Dead Neon (short story anthology), co-edited with Jarret Keene, University of Nevada Press, 2010.

Las Vegas Noir (short story anthology), co-edited with Jarret Keene, Akashic Press, 2008.

Behind the Short Story (college textbook), co-authored with Ryan Van Cleave, Pearson Longman 2007.

Newsworld (short story collection), University of Pittsburgh Press, 2006, Winner of the Drue Heinz Award.

The Australia Stories (novel), MacAdam/Cage Publishers, 2003.

Individual short stories, essays and poems published in over 70 magazines and journals including American Short Fiction, The Georgia Review, Gettysburg Review, Fiction, Harvard Review, Iowa Review, The Missouri Review, New England Review, North American Review, Shenandoah, Story Quarterly, Virginia Quarterly Review,and Willow Springs, as well as being anthologized in various college- and high-school literature textbooks.

Awards and Honors

Cal Poly Distinguished Scholar, 2018
Emily Clark Balch Prize, 2015
Prairie Schooner Strousse Award, 2012
Drue Heinz Literature Prize, 2006
Kingsbury Fellowship, 2001
Charles Angoff Award, 1998


Related Content