Al Landwehr Creative Writing Contest Winners Announced

Cal Poly’s English Department is pleased to announce that English majors Isabella Lazzareschi and Devon Hayes have won the 2016 Al Landwehr Creative Writing Contest.

Lazzareschi’s poem “Il Mercato All’aperto” and Hayes’s story “Trembling” both took first-place honors. Rebecca Liberatore and fiction winner Hayes won second and third places in the poetry contest. Taylor Steinbeck and Katie Girvan earned second- and third-place awards in fiction.

All six winners will receive prize money.

Anonymous submissions were read by two separate judging committees. These committees were comprised of English Department faculty who very generously donated their time. This year, faculty members Jenny Ashley, Brian Bates, and Jon Bartel judged poetry, while Carol Curiel, Sean Green, and Jay Peters judged fiction.

The co-editors of the 2016 issue of Byzantium, Marley McCaughey and Stephanie Narlesky, also made Editors’ Choice selections. Two of Despy Boutris’s poems were chosen in poetry, and stories by Harrison Trubitt and Hunter Laningham were selected in fiction.

The students will read from their winning works and receive their prizes at the annual Creative Writing Contest Awards Reading on May 23rd from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. at Steynberg Gallery in SLO. Their poems and stories will be published in Cal Poly’s literary annual Byzantium, which will be available for free that night.

Named in honor of Al Landwehr, the nationally published, much-loved creative writing professor who started the contest in the seventies, the annual competition is open to all students registered at Cal Poly.

Related Content