2015 American Scholar Prize Winner Announced

The American Scholar Prize Announces Its Third Winner - April 29, 2015

Congratulations to Junior Abigail Johnson


           “The scholar is that [person] who must take up into himself all the ability of time, all the
           contributions of the past, all the hopes of the future….[S/]he is the world’s eye. [S/]he is
​           the world’s heart.”
                         - excerpt from the essay,“The American Scholar,” by Ralph Waldo Emerson

The English Department is pleased to announce that Abigail Johnson was chosen as the third winner of the department's American Scholar Prize. She will be presented with her award at the English Department Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, June 14.

The American Scholar Prize award was created by Dr. Linda Halisky, former English Department Chair and College of Liberal Arts Dean, to recognize an English major whose passion for literature is palpable. The $500 prize is awarded to a Cal Poly English major who exhibits an interest in 
literature and language – someone who is “lit up” by literature.

In her short essay, Abigail writes that literature is “the dead coming back to life with their voices guiding us in a democracy from the grave and it is equality rising as we choose to accept the voices of those who have too often gone without a voice.”  Her essay demonstrates that she 
understands the timelessness of literature and its ability to help us understand the human condition.

The English Department will award the American Scholar Prize annually in order to highlight and 
reward enthusiastic and bright English major scholars.

For more information please contact the English department at english@calpoly.edu or 805-756-

Related Content